THE SMART MONEY WOMAN: A GUIDE TO FINANCIAL FREEDOM

Basic RGB

I must admit that despite the attractive book cover, I was not sure what to expect from The Smart Money Women. My reasons where simple. First, I had never heard of the author and second, I am usually sceptical about books that claim to teach you how to put your money to good use. I usually find such books boring and to me they seldom offer practical advice. Arese Ugwu’s book turned out to be different!

I must confess I skipped over the financial advice bits and read the actual story of Zuri and her friends. It was nice to read about the hot spots in Lagos – this brought the characters close to home and made them relevant to today’s Nigerian woman. When I had finished the novel I went back to read through the financial lessons in each chapter. I found them pretty easy to follow.

This 210-page book is divided into 12 chapters. At the end of each chapter, Arese defines certain terminologies used in a section called “Smart Money Lesson”. Afterwards, she gives her readers a number of simple (but powerful) exercises to enable them realise where they are at in terms of financial health, create a road map and action plans to get them to their desired financial goal.

This book tackles debt, spending, the entrepreneurial culture of the African middle class, the fear and misconceptions surrounding money and the lack of it, love, friendships, cultural and societal pressures and the roles they play in success.

The Smart Money Woman is a pretty good and easy read especially for those looking to turn their financial situations around.

Leave a Reply

